The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame honours excellence in health in Canada: announcing the 2018 inductees

October 3, 2017

London, ON – Dr. Bryce Taylor, Chair of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) announced today that Dr. Philip Berger, Dr. B. Brett Finlay, Dr. Vladimir Hachinski, Dr. Balfour Mount, Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg and the late Dr. Emily Stowe, have been selected for induction into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.

These Canadian and international leaders will celebrate this important recognition at a ceremony held in association with Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University on April 12, 2018 at the London Convention Centre in London, Ontario.

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Laureates are individuals whose contributions to medicine and the health sciences have led to extraordinary improvements in human health. Their work may be a single meritorious contribution or a lifetime of superior accomplishments. Pioneers in their field, they are role models for Canadians and an inspiration to our youth to pursue careers in the health sciences.

“The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame is proud to welcome these six individuals whose outstanding contributions to health have made Canada, and the world, a better place,” said Dr. Taylor. “Their impact is well documented and they have earned their place alongside the current 125 Laureates of the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame.”

“Schulich Medicine & Dentistry is proud to be the partner host for the 2018 Induction Ceremony in London, Ontario honouring the inspiring individuals who have made such a tremendous impact on human health,” said Dr. Michael J. Strong, Dean of the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry at Western University. “It is particularly exciting considering that London is also home to the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, and we are planning for a vibrant evening to pay tribute to the outstanding line-up of laureates.”

Dr. Philip Berger, O.ONT MD CCFP FCFP FRCPC (Hon), (Toronto, ON)

Dr. B. Brett Finlay, OC OBC PhD FRSC FCAHS, (Vancouver, BC)

Dr. Vladimir Hachinski, CM  MD  FRCPC  DSc  FAAN  FAHA  FRSC, (London, ON)

Dr. Balfour Mount, OC OQ MD FRCSC LLD, (Montréal, QC)

Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg, MDCM FRCPC FCCMG, (Winnipeg, MB)

The late Dr. Emily Stowe, MD  (Toronto, ON)



Established in 1994, the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) is a national charitable organization that fosters future generations of health professionals through the celebration of our country’s rich medical history, scholarship program, award program for medical students and the delivery of both local and nationwide education programs for youth. Each year, up to six individuals are recognized for their extraordinary contribution to improving the health of Canadians and people world-wide. The stories of the laureates are showcased on the web and in a portrait gallery and laureate theatre located in downtown London, ON.

Western University delivers an academic experience second to none. Since 1878, The Western Experience has combined academic excellence with life-long opportunities for intellectual, social and cultural growth in order to better serve our communities. Our research excellence expands knowledge and drives discovery with real-world application. Western attracts individuals with a broad worldview, seeking to study, influence and lead in the international community.


The Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry at Western University is one of Canada’s preeminent medical and dental schools. Established in 1881, it was one of the founding schools of Western University and is known for being the birthplace of family medicine in Canada. For more than 130 years, the School has demonstrated a commitment to academic excellence and a passion for scientific discovery.


Lissa Foster, Executive Director

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

office: 519.488.2003, x6110 / cell: 519.636.0660 /

– 30 –


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More