Saskatchewan Health Authority Board Member Appointed

August 23, 2017

Health Minister Jim Reiter is pleased to announce Dr. Preston Smith has been appointed as a member of the Saskatchewan Health Authority Board of Directors.

“Dr. Smith is highly respected as a medical educator and health care administrator with extensive experience in Saskatchewan and Nova Scotia,” Reiter said.  “His unique perspective is a valuable addition to the 10 member board as it helps guide the formation of the Saskatchewan Health Authority.”

Dr. Smith serves as the Dean of the College of Medicine and Vice-Provost Health at the University of Saskatchewan.
The Saskatchewan Health Authority Board is currently acting in an advisory capacity to help guide the transition from 12 Regional Health Authorities (RHAs) to a single provincial health authority.  During the transition period, the current RHA boards remain in place to govern RHA operations.

The date The Provincial Health Authority Act is proclaimed and the Saskatchewan Health Authority officially launches is still being determined, but is anticipated to occur in late fall 2017.  On that date, the RHA boards will dissolve and be replaced by the permanent Saskatchewan Health Authority Board.

For more information on transition planning, visit


For more information, contact:

Shirley Xie
Phone: 306-787-4083

Related Items

SHA Board Member


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More