Regional Health Authority Boards Named

News Release – February 6, 2009

Health Minister Don McMorris has announced the appointment of board members for Saskatchewan’s 12 regional health authorities (RHAs).

“I congratulate all new and returning board members and thank them for accepting the challenge of serving the province through our health governing bodies,” McMorris said. “Saskatchewan is about to turn a corner in health care as a result of our Patient First Review, and these capable individuals will guide our efforts to revitalize the system and improve patient care.”Of the 136 people appointed, 75 are men and 61 are women. Twenty-five appointees self-declared their First Nations or Métis background. Approximately 70 per cent of the board members appointed are new to their positions.

Board members are responsible for organizing, managing and delivering health services for all residents in their health regions. The boards work with the Ministry of Health to ensure coordinated, province-wide services, and support strategic goals identified by the Minister of Health.

“My sincere gratitude goes out to former board members for their dedicated service to patients and to the health system,” McMorris added.

All of the appointments are for three-year terms.


For more information, contact:

Karen Hill
Phone: 787-4083

Related Documents
7734-Health Boards.pdf (18.7 KB)

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More