Queen Elizabeth II scholarship awards presented to top Nunavut nursing students

Press Release

Iqaluit, Nunavut (April 27, 2022) – John Main, Minister of Health, presented five Queen Elizabeth II scholarship awards to top Nunavut Arctic College (NAC) nursing students at a luncheon in Iqaluit today.

The Queen Elizabeth II scholarship awards are presented annually to the students with the highest grades in their second, third and fourth years of the nursing program and include a $3,000 scholarship to aid in their studies.

“The Queen Elizabeth II scholarships are just one way the Government of Nunavut supports training and recruiting more Nunavummiut to work in health care across the territory,” said Minister Main. “By having nurses trained locally, we can provide more employment opportunities to Nunavummiut and we are able to develop a stronger, more culturally informed workforce. I would like to thank all recipients of this year’s award for your dedication to pursuing a career in nursing. The Department of Health is proud to support you through your studies at Nunavut Arctic College.”

The 2022 scholarship award winners are Ryan Buenaventura, Vayda Kaviok, Talia Grant, Angaluaaq Friesen, and Bukola Dimeji. The awards are part of the Department of Health’s continued financial support to train nurses from Nunavut.


Media Contact:

Danarae Sommerville
Communications Specialist
Department of Health


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More