Ontario Doctors Named to the Order of Canada

Toronto, ON July 8, 2015 – The Ontario Medical Association congratulates 11 of its members on their appointments to the Order of Canada

“On behalf of all of the members of the OMA I would like to offer my congratulations to these distinguished physicians, “ said Dr. Mike Toth, OMA President. “It is wonderful to see these innovators be recognized for their achievements and dedication to patients.”

Four physicians were part of 11 new appointees made Officers of the Order of Canada.

Dr. Sandra Black, director of the Hurvitz Brain Sciences Research Program at Sunnybrook Research Institute was named as an Officer in recognition of her contribution to improved diagnosis and treatment of vascular dementia, Alzheimer’s disease and stroke.

Also named an Officer was Dr. Daniel Drucker, senior investigator at Mount Sinai Hospital’s Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute in recognition of his global impact on the development of medicine used to treat diabetes and intestinal disorders.

Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz Evans, clinical department head at Princess Margaret Hospital was named an officer to acknowledge her advancements in global cancer care and contributions to improved cancer radiotherapy.

Dr. James Rutka, neurosurgeon at The Hospital for Sick Children, was also named an officer for his leadership in research and neurosurgery and his contributions to advancing the treatment of pediatric brain tumors.

There were seven physicians named as part of the 87 new appointees made Members of the Order of Canada:

  • Dr. Aubie Angel, Toronto, for his contributions to endocrinology and to the establishment of health organizations in Canada.
  • Dr. Stewart Harris, London, for his contributions to the development of strategies to manage and reduce diabetes in Aboriginal communities and other vulnerable populations.
  • Dr. Jay Keystone, Toronto, for his contributions as a clinician and educator who has expanded the discipline of tropical and travel medicine.
  • Dr. Vivian Morris Rakoff, Toronto, for his contributions to psychiatry as an educator and clinician, and for his role in founding the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health.
  • Dr. Barbara Kristina Schmidt, Hamilton, for her contributions to advancing the standard of care for critically ill newborns in Canada and abroad.
  • Dr. Marla Shapiro, Toronto, for her contributions as a family physician and as a trusted source of health information who communicates both the medical and human impacts of health care concerns.
  • Dr. Carolyn Ruth Wilson, Kingston, for her contributions to improving primary care in Ontario and for her leadership in family medicine.

These appointments were part of 95 new appointments announced by Governor General David Johnston on July 1st. The Order of Canada, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, was established in 1967, during Canada’s centennial year, to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Over the last 45 years, more than 6,000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order.


For more information, please contact:
OMA Media Relations
416-340-2862 or toll-free at 1-800-268-7215 ext. 2862


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More