Nunavut suspends Common Travel Area with NWT

Press Release

Iqaluit, Nunavut (August 17, 2021) –Nunavut’s Deputy Chief Public Health Officer, Dr. Anne Huang, has suspended Nunavut’s Common Travel Area with the Northwest Territories (NWT), effective immediately.

“Following the increased risk of COVID-19 in the NWT, we will close our side of the Common Travel Area with the territory beginning today,” said Dr. Huang. “Individuals who are not fully-vaccinated with a Health Canada-approved COVID-19 vaccine must isolate at the designated isolation hub in Yellowknife for 14 days before travelling home to Nunavut.”

Exceptions to this isolation requirement include: travellers with a same-ticket layover through Yellowknife, vaccinated travellers with unvaccinated dependents 12 years old or under, critical workers with an authorized travel letter, or those granted compassionate exemption.

To apply for an exemption to out-of-territory isolation or book isolation in Yellowknife go to for details on how to apply.

As per the current public health orders, when one traveller of a household is required to isolate, all unvaccinated members of that household must isolate as well. Those isolating must remain in their home for 14 days, must follow all in-territory isolation rules and should have groceries delivered. Otherwise one isolating member of the household may shop for food once per week if delivery is not possible.

Anyone who believes they have been exposed to COVID-19 should call the COVID hotline at 1-888-975-8601 between 9 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. EDT, or notify their community health centre right away, and immediately isolate at home for 14 days. Please do not go to the health centre in person. For more information on COVID-19 in Nunavut, go to:


Media Contact:

Chris Puglia
Acting Manager, Communications
Department of Health


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More