Northwest Territories Council of Leaders hold Mental Health and Addictions Meeting

Press Release

Yellowknife (November 29, 2022) – Indigenous leaders and leaders from the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) Department of Health and Social Services held a special meeting of the Northwest Territories Council of Leaders (NWTCOL) on Mental Health and Addictions on November 25, 2022, in Yellowknife and virtually.

Leaders discussed Mental Health and Addictions, including:

  • recovery service needs, what is working in their regions, and what needs improvement;
  • the end of Poundmaker’s Lodge contract with the GNWT;
  • the growth and development of made-in-the-north, community-led mental health and addiction recovery initiatives;
  • ways that the GNWT and Indigenous Governments can work together to streamline access to funds that support wellness at the community level; and
  • upcoming opportunities for continued collaboration including the Territorial Wellness Gathering in December 2022, additional gatherings for youth and Indigenous men in 2023, and the Weaving our Wisdom Conference planned for 2024.

The NWTCOL forum offers members the opportunity to discuss territory-wide social and economic issues that are of interest to all member governments and work towards solutions.

Leaders attending the meeting included:

  • Chief Louie Balsillie, Denı́nu Ku ́e ́ Firston Nati
  • Grand Chief Herb Norwegian, Dehcho First Nations
  • Councillor Gina Dolphus, Délı nę Got’ınę Government
  • Grand Chief Ken Kyikavichik, Gwich’in Tribal Council
  • Chief April Martel, Kátł’odeeche First Nation
  • Vice-President Marc Whitford, North Slave Métis Alliance
  • Chair Charles McNeely, Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated
  • Grand Chief Jackson Lafferty, Tłı chǫ Government
  • Chief Clifford Daniels, Tłı chǫ Government
  • Minister Julie Green, Health and Social Services

Delegates also attended from the following governments:

  • Kristen Tanche, Dehcho First Nations
  • Lena Black, Yellowknives Dene First Nation
  • Evelyn Storr, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
  • Julie Beaver, Salt River First Nation
  • Jason Lepine, Northwest Territory Métis Nation

Quick Facts

  • Strengthening relationships with Indigenous governments is a priority of the 19th Legislative Assembly.
  • The Northwest Territories Council of Leaders Memorandum of Understanding was signed by leadership on June 11, 2021. The MOU was signed for a four-year term.
  • Signatories to the NWT Council of Leaders include: Acho Dene Koe First Nation, Akaitcho Dene First Nations, Délı nę Got’ınę Government, Gwich’in Tribal Council, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Kátł’odeeche irstF Nation, Nahanni Butte Dene Band, North Slave Métis Alliance, Northwest Territory Métis Nation, Salt River First Nation, Sahtu Secretariat Inc., Tłı chǫ

Government, and the Government of the NWT.

  • The inaugural meeting of the NWTCOL was held on June 11, 2021, in Yellowknife, NT and virtually. Subsequent meetings were held November 18-19, 2021, May 20, 2022, and September 27-29, 2022.
  • The MOU commits the NWT Council of Leaders to meeting annually.

For more information, contact:

Boyd Clark

Advisor/Band Manager (Acting) Acho Dene Koe First Nation 303-681-5171

Annie Boucher

Executive Director

Akaitcho Territory Government 867-394-3313

Paulina Roche

Chief Executive Officer Délı nę Got’ı Governmentnę

867-589-8100, ext 106

Sharla Greenland

Chief Operating Officer Gwich’in Tribal Council 867-777-7935

Alexandrea Gordon

Manager of Communications Inuvialuit Regional Corporation 867-777-7041

Roy Fabian

Acting Chief Executive Officer Kátł’odeeche First Nation 867-874-6701

Soham Scrimani

Band Manager

Nahanni Butte Dene Band

867-669-0242 ext. 207

Marc Whitford


North Slave Métis Alliance 867-669-7442


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More