New Chair, Directors Appointed to Shared Health Board

Press Release

February 14, 2024

The Manitoba government has appointed a new chair and several new members to the Shared Health board of directors, Health, Seniors and Long-Term Care Minister Uzoma Asagwara announced today.

“Shared Health is central to the work underway to reduce wait times, improve the culture of working in health care and provide the highest quality care to patients,” said Asagwara. “As we work to make sure every Manitoba has the care they need close to home, patients will benefit from having a diverse board with experts and highly qualified individuals leading the work of Shared Health. I want to welcome Dr. Brian Postl as the new chairperson of the board and thank all the outgoing, new and continuing directors as we address the province’s health-care challenges head-on, together.”

Dr. Postl (Winnipeg) has been appointed chairperson of the Shared Health board of directors. He is the former dean and vice-provost of the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba. He replaces Brenna Shearer, who begins a new three-year term as a board member.

“I recognize what an important task we as health-care leaders have ahead of us and am proud to lend my experience to help lead the work of Shared Health in the coming years,” said Dr. Postl. “I look forward to working with government to support and improve health-care services for Manitobans.”

These board members have been appointed to three-year terms:

  • Roustam Souleymanov (Winnipeg);
  • Stacy Senkbeil (Brandon);
  • Lois Stewart-Archer (Winnipeg); and
  • Melanie MacKinnon (St. Laurent).

Newly appointed members join others with ongoing terms: Brenna Shearer (Winnipeg), Nicole Stefaniuk (Winnipeg), Doris Young (Opaskwayak Cree Nation), Nathan Peto (Portage la Prairie) and Keren Taylor-Hughes (Winnipeg).  Board members are able to serve a maximum of six consecutive years.

The Shared Health board is accountable to the health minister and is responsible for the mandate, resources and performance of the organization. The board must ensure the organization complies with applicable legislation, regulations and provincial policies.

The minister thanked outgoing board members for their contribution to the provincial health authority, particularly as their terms overlapped with the COVID-19 pandemic and the post-pandemic recovery.

For more information about Shared Health, visit

– 30 –


For more information:

  • Public information, contact Manitoba Government Inquiry: 1-866-626-4862 or 204-945-3744.
  • Media requests for general information, contact Communications and Engagement:
  • Media requests for ministerial comment, contact Cabinet Communications:


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More