Manitoba Takes Home National Award for Health-care Innovation

Manitoba News Release
June 5, 2009

Ministers Launch Provincial Health Innovation Awards, Call For Nominations

Manitoba has won a national award for innovative health-care delivery and will launch two new provincial awards to foster innovation in the health-care system, Healthy Living Minister Kerri Irvin-Ross and Health Minister Theresa Oswald announced today.Manitoba’s Chronic Disease Prevention Initiative (CDPI), a partnership between communities across the province and the health-care system, has received a Tommy Douglas Celebration of Medicare Award in the general disease management category. The award was presented yesterday evening in Toronto.

“Manitoba communities have developed creative and innovative ways to encourage healthy eating and promote an active lifestyle, helping prevent chronic diseases,” said Irvin-Ross. “This award recognizes Manitoba’s leadership in healthy living and I congratulate the many community leaders and volunteers who work tirelessly to promote healthy communities.”

The award-winning initiative, developed in partnership with the Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance of Canada, supports communities as they develop programs to address the chronic disease risk factors that affect their community including reducing tobacco use, encouraging healthy eating and promoting healthy living.

Eighty-three Manitoba communities take part in the initiative, which is funded by both the federal and provincial governments.

The Tommy Douglas Celebration of Medicare awards are presented by the New Health Professionals Network, which represents 20,000 students training in medicine, pharmacy, nursing and chiropractic care.

“By addressing lifestyle factors including smoking cessation, physical activity and healthy eating, the Chronic Disease Prevention Initiative empowers citizens to reduce their risk for chronic disease,” said Brynne Stainsby, president of the Student Canadian Chiropractic Association, and chair of the Tommy Douglas Celebration of Medicare Awards selection committee. “The selection committee was impressed with the grassroots efforts focused on evidence-based, integrated programs and especially pleased to note the focus on creating a sustainable program.”

The ministers also announced that two new provincial awards launched today will recognize and celebrate local initiatives that foster innovation in health care and healthy living. The ministers called for nominations for the new awards.

“Good ideas that improve patient care come from all levels including patients and families, communities, front-line health-care providers, policymakers and researchers,” said Oswald. “These new innovation awards will celebrate the good ideas that make a difference for patients and encourage even more innovative thinking.”

Following a recommendation from the Premier’s Economic Advisory Council, two ministerial awards are being introduced to recognize innovation in health service delivery in the publicly funded health-care system as well as healthy-living initiatives:

. The Enid Thompson Award for Health Care Innovation will recognize an outstanding change that has had a positive effect on patient care in the publicly funded health-care system. This award is named in honour of a lifelong civil servant responsible for several innovative changes that have had lasting impacts in Manitoba, including the introduction of the first comprehensive, universal home-care program in North America.

. The Mino Bimaadiziwin Innovation Award for Healthy Living will recognize an initiative that has enhanced healthy living activities among Manitobans. Mino Bimaadiziwin is an Ojibway phrase meaning “the good life.” The award honours the youth at Southeast Collegiate who have championed healthy lifestyles that seek a balance of spirit, body and mind. These youth represent many First Nations communities.

“Many Manitobans have developed new and creative ideas to support healthy living in communities across the province,” said Polly Craik, chief executive officer of FineLine and a member of the Premier’s Economic Advisory Council. “These awards will recognize their important contributions and celebrate Manitoba’s spirit of innovation.”

More information on the awards and nomination instructions are available at All Manitobans are eligible for nomination, which will be accepted until July 31. The winners will be announced later this year.

– 30 –

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More