Lloydminster to benefit from interprovincial health partnership

Released on July 28, 2014

Alberta and Saskatchewan will work together to ensure coordinated and seamless healthcare services for the residents of Lloydminster and area.

Alberta Minister of Health Fred Horne and Saskatchewan Minister Responsible for Rural and Remote Health Tim McMillan signed a memorandum of understanding that enhances the collaboration between the two provinces on the delivery of health services in this community.

“By working together, we can better ensure the health needs of Lloydminster residents are met,” Horne said.  “This collaborative approach will enable us to provide the most appropriate services in a more coordinated and efficient way.  Ultimately, it will mean improved care for the people of Lloydminster.”

In addition, Alberta and Saskatchewan are investing more than $1 million to develop a third operating room at the Lloydminster Hospital, $750,000 a year to introduce the Home First/Quick Response program to enhance home care services, and Alberta is joining Saskatchewan to further develop the Prairie North Health Centre for a total of $1.1 million.  The Lloydminster Region Health Foundation, as a community partner, has also committed more than $1 million towards primary and acute care.

“These investments are an initial step in addressing the growth in Saskatchewan, as well as the health care needs of this vibrant and dynamic community,” McMillan said.  “Our governments are working together to provide quality care and sustainable services to the people of Lloydminster now and in the future.”

Last year, a working group of local stakeholders and government representatives from both provinces, called the Lloydminster Health Services Working Group, was created to address the unique health care needs of Lloydminster.  Actions have since been taken to ensure residents have access to consistent health care services:

  • physicians can now hold licences in both Saskatchewan and Alberta, allowing them to work in both provinces;
  • integration of Alberta Netcare is expected to be complete by the end of 2014, which will ensure better information access for health professionals and improve patient care; and
  • emergency care services and protocols will be standardized between Alberta and Saskatchewan to ensure consistency.

The MOU will create a Bi-Provincial Health Services Committee to help ensure the unique health service needs in this border city are addressed.

“Today marks a first for the City of Lloydminster and the future of healthcare in our city,” Lloydminster Mayor Rob Saunders said.  “We are committed to ensure ongoing community involvement and coordination of healthcare for all.”


For more information, contact:

Tyler McMurchy
Saskatchewan Ministry of Health
Phone: 306-787-4083
Email: tyler.mcmurchy@health.gov.sk.ca

Samantha Georgsen
Alberta Health
Phone: 780-974-1831
Email: samantha.georgsen@gov.ab.ca

Penny Manners
City of Lloydminster
Phone: 780-214-8888
Email: pmanners@lloydminster.ca


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More