Health-system Innovators Receive Awards for Improving Patient Care and Efficiency

Health-system innovators from across the province received awards today from Health Minister Cameron Friesen for projects that have improved services for Manitoba families.

“As health care continues to transform, we need to look at innovative ways of enhancing access to consistent, reliable care at all levels of the health-care system,” said Friesen.  “Today’s award winners have done just that and I congratulate all the nominees for their thoughtful ideas, hard work and dedication to improving health care in Manitoba.”

This year’s award winners are:
•    Patient-Centred Care – Inventory Management Team, Prairie Mountain Health;
•    Health-System Improvement – Safer Care for Older Persons in residential Environments (SCOPE) program teams, Winnipeg Regional Health Authority;
•    Mino Bimaadiziwin Innovation Award for Healthy Living (organization) – Manitoba First Nations Casino Trust;
•    Mino Bimaadiziwin Innovation Award for Healthy Living (individual) – Taneal Semeniuk; and
•    Enid Thompson Award for Health Care Innovation – Trish Bergal.

“These individuals and organizations have advanced and improved care in Manitoba, and I’m pleased to be able to share their stories and recognize their hard work,” said Friesen.  “Their efforts have benefited patients and serve as an inspiration to others working in the health-care system.”

More information on the Health Innovation Awards is available at

– 30 –


For more information:

  • Public information, contact Manitoba Government Inquiry: 1-866-626-4862 or 204-945-3744.
  • Media requests for general information, contact Communications Services Manitoba: 204-945-3765.
  • Media requests for ministerial comment, contact Communications and Stakeholder Relations: 204-945-4916.


NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More