Canada’s Premiers Announce Recipients of the Award for Innovation in Mental Health and Addictions Care

Press Release

OTTAWA, October 18, 2022 – Canada’s Premiers today announced the recipients of the Council of the Federation (COF) Award for Innovation in Mental Health and Addictions Care. Presented in each province and territory for innovative initiatives that positively impact mental health and addictions care, the award recognizes individuals and organizations excelling in the field.

The recipients of the Award for Innovation in Mental Health and Addictions Care are:

  • Day Treatment Mental Health and Addictions Program – Kainai Wellness Centre (Blood Tribe Department of Health) – Alberta
  • Cherokee Bent – British Columbia
  • KIDTHINK Children’s Mental Health Centre Inc. – Manitoba
  • St. John’s Status of Women Council Managed Alcohol Program – Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Acceptance and Commitment Therapy Tele-Counselling for Family Caregivers – Dr. Pamela Durepos, Nicole Cormier, Chandra MacBean – New Brunswick
  • Supporting Wellbeing – Northwest Territories
  • Strongest Families Institute, SFI Companion App – Nova Scotia
  • Mary Ugyuk – Nunavut
  • The Path Home – LOFT (Leap of Faith Together) Community Service – Ontario
  • Peer Support Program, Canadian Mental Health Association – PEI Division– Prince Edward Island
  • Équipe-toi : accompagne un proche en santé mentale – Québec
  • Mentally Safe Minecraft Server (MS²) – CMHA-SK – Saskatchewan
  • Chris Spencer – Yukon

“On behalf of all Premiers, I extend congratulations to the recipients of this award for their diligent and innovative work in the field of mental health and addictions care,” said Heather Stefanson, Manitoba Premier and COF Chair. “It is critical that we continue to have open conversations on mental health and how to best support the many Canadians who are impacted by mental health challenges.”

Each award recipient will receive a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a $5,000 prize to advance the awarded initiative and foster further innovation.

The Council of the Federation comprises all 13 provincial and territorial Premiers. It enables Premiers to work collaboratively, form closer ties, foster constructive relationships among governments, and show leadership on important issues that matter to Canadians.



NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More