2014 FNHMA Board of Directors, Executive Election Results Announced; Judy Sugar to Serve as President


2014 FNHMA Board of Directors, Executive Election Results Announced;
Judy Sugar to Serve as President

Vancouver, BC (September 25, 2014) – The FNHMA Board of Directors, voted in a new Executive, as the current term of the existing executive expired.  Certified First Nations Health Manager, Judy Sugar, Piapot First Nation has been elected as the new President of the First Nations Health Managers Association (FNHMA).  Judy will serve as President-Elect commencing on Friday, September 26th, 2014.

David McLaren, CFNHM, Health Director of Eagle Village First Nation, served as the President of the FNHMA from November of 2011 to September 2014.  David has a long list of contributions to the FNHMA.  David was a recipient of the FNHMA Leadership Award, in recognition of outstanding contribution to the development of the First Nations Health Managers Association (2012), by being a participant of the First Nations Health Managers Advisory Committee, co-chaired by Health Canada and the Assembly of First Nations (2006 – 2010).  David was a founding member of the board of directors representing Quebec (2010 – 2011).  He influenced the delivery of First Nations health services delivery by contributing to the development of the foundational core competencies of FNHMA standards.  In David’s role as the President of the FNHMA, he led the organization’s strategic action and partnership building.  Under David’s leadership the organization signed partnership agreements with the Aboriginal Financial Officers Association (AFOA), the Assembly First Nations (AFN), National Native Addictions Partnership Foundation and the First Nations Wellness and Addictions Counsellor Certification Board.  A partnership agreement with the Aboriginal Nurses Association of Canada was also approved, under his tenure.  David will continue to support the FNHMA in his new capacity Vice-President.

As FNHMA’s 4th President, Judy Sugar will be strong leader for FNHMA and looks forward to supporting the vision and mission of the FNHMA membership

“As President, my top priority will be continuing with the mandate to surpass the members’ expectations. I will also work to ensure members’ voices are heard and I am a proud Certified First Nations Health Manager.” Judy said.

The FNHMA Board of Directors:

President and Saskatchewan Director
Judy Sugar, CFNHM, Piapot Health Services, SK

David McLaren, CFNHM, Eagle Village First Nation, QC

Treasurer and Alberta Director
Lorraine Muskwa, Bigstone Health Commission, AB

Atlantic Director
Darlene Anganis, Membertou First Nation, NS

British Columbia Director
Georgia Cook, ‘Namgis First Nation, BC

Manitoba Director
Garry Munro, Cree Nation Tribal Health, MB

Ontario Director
Lydia McKenzie, Temagami First Nation, ON

Quebec Director
Donna Metallic, CFNHM, Listuguj, QC

Director at Large
Sonia Isaac-Mann, Associate Director of Health

Safe, Secure and Sustainable Communities
Assembly of First Nations

For more information, or to schedule an interview, please contact Marion Crowe, CFNHM, CAFM, FNHMA Executive Director.

Contact: Marion Crowe, Executive Director
Cell: (613) 697-9690
Email: marion@fnhma.ca

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More